My Verdict: Sephora’s Upside down Mascara

Sephora’s latest mascara ….

The UPSIDE DOWN MASCARA

IMG_0704-1

IMG_0705-1

Caused a buzz in the beauty industry even before its launch. People were curious on how this new mascara performs.

Is it as good as it looks or advertised about?

IMG_0707-1

After purchasing this talked about mascara and testing it- I must say

I’m not impressed

Let me introduce the mascara to you

Sephora describes this mascara:

“An innovative double-brush mascara for three looks in one.  A double-brush mascara which enables you to create volume, length, curl, and definition. For ultimate volume, use the open wand by placing lashes between the upper and lower mascara brush to coat each lash with 360° of volumizing pigment. To achieve a wide eyed, long lash look, use the dual brush closed for maximized delivery. Create defined lower lashes with the closed mascara brush. Feeling bold? Use all three techniques together for a maximized lash effect.”

The mascara comes in a case with a temporary cap. When using for the first time, remove the cap and replace it with the double-brush provided in the case. You can then discard the temporary cap.

IMG_0714-1

You can use it in 3 ways

For volume: Twist the cap to reveal the separated dual brush. Gently place upper lashes between the upper and lower mascara wands and “sandwich” brush together sweeping brush in an upward motion.

For length and curl: Swipe lashes from root to tip with closed double brush. Make sure when the cap is removed from the mascara vial, it includes the second ring that keeps the dual brush closed and easier to use.

For defined lower lashes: Wiggle brush across lower lash line when dual brush is closed.

IMG_0710-1

IMG_0711-1

IMG_0712-1

My experience

I have tried it in the 3 different techniques.

For the 3 techniques- The mascara made a huge mess. It is clumpy, goopy and it was all over my lids. The applicator is not easy to handle. It looks good and funky- but not as easy to use.

IMG_0716-1

I found that the wand was slightly difficult to control. I didn’t like he formula of the mascara as well. It clumped a lot. I noticed this from the second coat.

Whenever you close the wands together to curl your lash, you make a mess on your lids. It prints everywhere.

I even tried to define my bottom lashes, and I found it hard as well as the wand had a twin next to it blocking my view and nearly touching my skin.

The results are quite nice I won’t lie , it lengthens-  but to get those results ended up creating a crazy mess. I tried it on without eyeshadow. Imagine if I had eyeshadow and foundation as well- everything would be messed up.

The pictures below show the difference between “with” mascara and “without”. Please note that I had to clean all around my eye after application as it was quite messy.

IMG_0721-1

IMG_0725-1

IMG_0726-1

It is a mascara which I don’t think I’ll re-purchase again. It looks better that it functions.

I can get any other mascara with a normal wand which will be easier and work much better than this.

 

 

 

