MY REVIEW: Giorgio Armani ‘s Lasting Silk UV Foundation

I am actually in love with this foundation! I’ve had it for a while now- just had to make sure I love it so I can actually review it!

The Giorgio Armani “Lasting Silk UV foundation” looks very similar to the Designer lift and luminous silk foundation from Armani in terms of packaging- however- it works very differently!

20130129-215059.jpg

Just in case you are wondering, it is available in Sax Fifth Avenue (Bahrain). This foundation is available in 8 shades.

20130129-215105.jpg

According to Armani, the Lasting Silk UV foundation is made for extreme backstage conditions – staying up to 14 hours. It also contains SPF 20 🙂

After testing the product I realized that this foundation is very light weight in terms of formula- ( the majority of Armani’s foundations are light weight)-and what I loved about it – it felt like second skin.. Very natural and flawless. It gives off such a beautiful and healthy glow! If you are tired of matte foundations- then try this for a change- for a beautiful satin finish! The coverage I would say it is light to medium… so if you have major imperfections this won’t really cover (you would need to correct/conceal).

20130129-215114.jpg

If you look closely at the bottle you will see fine shimmers.. This will give your skin a luminescent glow!

It is an award winner too: Allure Best of Beauty Award Winner, Allure “Best Medium Coverage Foundation” 2010 Award Winner and CEW Beauty Awards 2010 Finalist, “Best Face Product Prestige”

This foundation however is water based… meaning that it will work great for oily skin and normal skin. If you have dry skin or dry patches- this product will not work well with it. For dry skin I do recommend the Luminous silk foundation. But anyways it is very moisturizing and you barely feel like you have anything on your face.

20130129-215110.jpg

I love using it with a Sigma Beauty “flat kabuki” F80 brush or a Real Technique’s “buffing brush”. I just love working it into my skin with a buffer since it’s very lightweight.

20130129-215139.jpg

I’m slightly disappointed- as Armani claims it will stay up to 14 hours- this doesn’t. I would give it maximum 6hours.. and that is with a proper base & a fixant.

What I also love doing is NOT applying any powder on top! It’s your choice to (if you want it to set), but I don’t want to remove that dewy glowy look- so I just leave it as it is and use cream/liquid blush and highlighters to give a healthier look than a mattified one.

See below for pictures on how the foundation looks like

20130129-215117.jpg

Starting to blend the product

20130129-215128.jpg

The picture below shows after blending- see how the skin looks cleaner, fresher, healthier & more glowing!

20130129-215123.jpg

It’s a pricey product though- compared to other foundations in the market such as MAC etc.

